The 2008-09 UIL realignment has created a major shift in who is playing whom next season in football and basketball.

The announcement was made Friday morning and most districts have some new faces to go against once football season begins in the fall.

While Calallen and Tuloso-Midway will remain in District 31-4A, Robstown High School will be downgraded to 3A.

Robstown will be in District 31-3A with seven other schools. Included in Robstown's new district are Aransas Pass, Falfurrias, Ingleside, Mathis, Orange Grove, Sinton and West Oso.

Although Alice and Flour Bluff and H.M. King stay in the same district as Calallen and Tuloso-Midway, three schools from Laredo move in to also make it an eight-team district.

Cigarroa, LBJ and Nixon High School will make their debut in the district 4A this fall.

All three schools are being downgraded from District 27-5A.

Also moving to a different district in 2A is Banquete High School.

Banquete moves to District 30-2A with Bloomington, Odem, Refugio, Skidmore-Tynan and Taft.

With 4A districts across the state getting as many as 10 teams, the top four teams will now receive playoff berths in football.

With an eight-team format for District 31-4A and 31-3A, there will be fewer non-district games, but a team must play a minimum of 10 games to be eligible for playoff position.

The decision to shift most of these schools was based on enrollment.

Class 4A schools must have at least 980 students.

Tuloso-Midway barely stayed in 4A with a little under 1,000 students.