The Alice Coyotes and the rest of 30-5A won’t have to contend with an unprecedented 10-game district schedule after all.

Instead, coaches have elected to split the 11-team district into a North Zone and a South Zone.

The North Zone will include Alice, Calallen, Gregory-Portland, Tuloso-Midway, Corpus Christi Ray and Miller. Flour Bluff, Corpus Christi Carroll, King, Moody and Veterans Memorial will make up the South Zone.

The dilemma arose last week after the UIL granted Alice and Calallen’s appeal to be moved from 29-5A to 30-5A creating an 11-team mega district.  

The district’s schedules and other details are still being discussed by coaches at the meeting. The Alice Echo-News Journal is following the story.