School won with 2,226-point margin

For the second year in a row, St. Elizabeth Catholic School has earned the title of Lone Star Challenge State Champions.

Lone Star Challenge is an academic competition created by Texas Academic Decathlon to model the type of competitions held in middle schools and high schools.

This is the third year of the program's existence. In the inaugural year of 2005, St. Elizabeth ranked seventh overall in the state, but the last two years St. Elizabeth has outscored the other elementary schools from around the state to win two State Championships.

In this year's competition St. Elizabeth scored 20,170 points, beating second place Borchardt Elementary of Frisco ISD (near Plano), which scored 17,944. J.B. Little Elementary of Arlington ISD was third with 17,933, followed by Yale Elementary of Richardson ISD with 17,542.

Rounding out the top 10 were five more elementary schools from Frisco ISD and one from Arlington ISD. The 2,226 point margin of victory was similar to last year's 2,634 point margin of victory.

The students from St. Elizabeth competed in Math, Science, History, Essay writing, Language Arts,and Super Quiz (based on the history of the Jamestown colony, the first successful English colony in North America).

Students practiced as a team every Thursday for 90 minutes and for three hours on Sunday afternoons. Additionally, they had independent study assignments.

School principal Selina Garcia was very excited about the state championship.

"Last year we were hoping to win state, but this year the kids expected it. They worked with a renewed sense of urgency. The material was more difficult this year so we were a little worried," she said. "We are all so happy for our kids when they found out they won again. I'm proud of all of them for how they have represented our school and our Alice community as state champions."

Competing for St. Elizabeth School's Lone Star Challenge Red Team were: Cecilia Eberhard, Victoria Velasquez, Sierra Flores, Elijah Velasquez, Alainya Eberhard and Derek Rodriguez. Competing for St. Elizabeth School's Lone Star Challenge Blue Team were Madison Beltran, Adam Brunn, Julyssa Rangel, Savannah Harper, Kirsten Alaniz and Veronica Schneider.