Thirty-two cooking teams from South Texas cooked at the first Alice Noon Lions Road Kill Cook-Off on March 31 at the K.C. Hall grounds. Teams prepared road kill, beans and brisket, chicken and pork spare ribs.

The International Barbecue Cookers Association results were, in order:


Adrian Benavides, Wolf Garza, Carlos Elizondo, Tim Lemon, Shawn Hoff, Tony Herrera, Mariano Ramos, Orlando Bernal, Austin McDonald and Henry Riojas

Pork spare ribs:

Junior Sendejo, Rey Guerra, Noe Falcon, Henry Riojas, Joel Contreas, Austin McDonald, Ralph Ochoa, Wolf Garza, Adam Nerio and Johnny Weaver


Tony Herrera, Denver Eichler, Adrian Benavides, Wolf Garza, Aco Gonzalez, Orlando Martienz, Noe Falcon, Shawn Hoff, Pete Garcia and Rick Santos


Tony Herrera, Adrian Benavides, Adam Nerio, Joe A. Gonzalez, Ralph Ochoa, Junior Sendejo, Johnny Weaver, Larry Adames, Rick Santos and Robby Martinez

Overall champion was Wolf Garza; reserve champion was Adrian Benavides and Adam Nerio was the Road Kill winner.