Votes go to Garcia, Burgeson, Atkinson

Mauricio Julian Cuellar Jr., Alice Echo-News Journal

With 1,485 votes to cast in the run for the Jim Wells County Appraisal District Board of Directors selection process, JWC Commissioners spread their votes among three incumbents.

Precinct 4 County Commissioner Javier Garcia received 835 votes from the commissioner's court, followed by Wallace Burgeson with 485 votes and Newell Atkinson III with 165 votes.

Those who receive the highest vote totals will serve through the 2008-2009 term.

County Judge L. Arnoldo Saenz said the decision was based on the need for equal representation on the board.

"We felt the need to have fair representation from all parts of the county," he said.

Garcia serves as County Commissioner for the Premont area, while Burgeson is a well-respected figure among the citizens of Orange Grove, Saenz said. Saenz said the commissioners felt Atkinson fit well in a position representing the interests of those in the Alice area.

The list of candidates this year also included Betty Lou Garcia, Dr. Ruben Garcia, R. David Guerrero and Guadalupe T. Martinez.