MVPs named for each sport

Sue Fleming, The Freer Press

Much heartfelt praise along with a host of awards were given during the Freer Buckaroos Athletic banquet last Thursday night in the Norman Thomas Elementary gym.

"What a year it's been for Freer," Athletic Director Joseph Alvarado said prior to the awards presentations. "Our student athletes have been successful as they have represented our school in Central Texas and South Texas, the Coastal Bend with great honor and pride. I'm here to tell you, they've been paid compliments everywhere they have gone. Freer is proud of you and we're going to honor you tonight."

In 2006, the Freer Varsity Football team captured the titles of District 32-2A Bi District, Area and were Regional Semi-Finalists and the Varsity Basketball team was named District 32-2A Tri-Champions.

Alvarado said without the help of the parents, school board, administrators, coaches and the community, such success would not have been possible.

Girl's Volleyball Coach, Sarah Todd announced the first two award winners, which were Aimee Evans, who was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Samantha Diaz, who was named Most Valuable Player.

Coach Barbra Uribe followed, presenting the Cross Country Most Valuable Player award to Bridget Bollom.

Following the introduction of the Freer Junior and Varsity Football teams, Gabriel Garcia was announced as the winner of the Muy Grande Most Valuable Player; Ricky Salaiz, Fabian Eeds and Garcia as winners of the Gold Jersey Awards; Jaime Uribe and Ricky Salaiz, as Defensive Lineman of the Year; Ricky Salaiz as Offensive Lineman of the Year; Skyler Alaniz as recipient of the Buckaroo Scout Team Award and Artie Grande recipient of the Freer Press Fighting Heart Award.

Barbra Uribe then presented the Girl's Basketball Defensive Player of the Year Award to Samantha Diaz and Elisa Perez and also named Elisa Perez as Most Valuable Player.

Coach J.D. Uribe presented the Boy's Basketball Most Valuable Player award to Wesley Luna and Fabian Eeds and named Fabian Eeds as Defensive Player of the Year.

Girl's Track Most Valuable Player award recognition was presented to Tessa Serna by Barbra Uribe.

Coach Ryan Gupton presented the Boy's Track Most Valuable Player award to Gabriel Garcia and Seve Alaniz. Girl's Softball Coach Melissa Soto named Aimee Evans as the Defensive Player of the Year and Carina Moreno and Samantha Diaz as Most Valuable Players. Coach Hector Gaza followed, presenting the John Anderson Baseball Award to Jaime Uribe.

Powerlifting Most Valuable Player awards were presented to Saul Pineda and Malerie Eeds by Coach Adam Garza. Alvarado followed, naming Jake Acker as Boy's Golf Most Valuable Player and Aimee Evans as Girl's Golf Most Valuable Player.

Afterward, high school cheerleader sponsor Stella Siprian introduced each who then presented a gift basket to high school principal Ramon Pulido in appreciation for his continued support.

Newcomer of the Year award was presented to Peggy Lerma and Audrey Garza was named recipient of the Bernie Alexander Fighting Heart Award by Alvarado.

The Richard "CHUCO" Aguillera Distinguished Merit Award was presented to Seve Alaniz also by Alvarado, and Clarissa Salazar and Ricky Salaiz were named winners of the Joe Holcomb "Buckaroo Spirit" Award which concluded the awards presentations.

The seniors closed the banquet with the singing of the school Alma Mater .

Freer Athletic Booster Club officers are President-Daniel Ramirez, Vice President-Fred Soto, Secretary-Terry Rios, Treasurer-Cathy Ramirez and Committee Coordinator-Elsa Alcorta.