Parade, snake winners announced

Sue Fleming, The Freer Press

Freer's 42nd Annual Rattlesnake Round Up held last weekend at the Freer Duval Airport was enjoyed by many folks who traveled near and far to attend.

"This has been a huge learning process since this is the first time the round up has been held at the airport in years," said Chamber of Commerce manager Angel Ybanez, "so I predict next year's will be even bigger and better."

This year's event featured a carnival, mechanical bullride, a variety of arts and crafts, horseshoe tournaments, food booths and, of course, plenty of live rattlesnakes which were displayed in several enclosed pits for viewing.

Daredevil snake shows were also presented throughout the day by Steve Raines of Hamilton, Texas.

Friday night's musical entertainment showcased singer Jesse Marroquin who was followed by the popular groups Jaime Y Los Chamacos and Conjunto Oro.

Saturday morning large crowds lining the streets watched the annual parade which began from the Super S Grocery parking lot and ended at Freer High School.

Trophies were awarded to the winners in the following categories:

Car Clubs

1st Place, Flamerz of Freer

2nd Place, Slingshot Racing of Alice

3rd Place, South Texas Motorcycle group

Decorated Vehicles

1st Place, "The Best Treasure Ever" featured Miss Freer first runner-up Amiee Evans, Little Mr. Freer first runner-up Andruw Espinoza and Little Miss Freer first runner-up Rae Garza

2nd Place, Little Miss Fiesta Amistad featuring Lauren Terasas and Miss Fiesta Amistad Carla Garcia of Ben Bolt

3rd Place, Rattlesnake Round-Up Mascot Courtney Bigley


1st Place, Luling Watermelon Thump featured Queen Ashley Mcfadin and Princess KimDussetschleger

2nd Place, Floresville Peanut Festival featured The Children's Court with Page Jeffrey Angel II, Page Courtenay Hagg, Train Bearer Rhyan Dominguez, Train Bearer Shae Shodrock, Scepter Bearer Daniel Ramirez Jr., Crown Bearer Dylan Merten and Acolyte Diego Perez

3rd Place, Miss Freer Contestant "Best Talent" Kimberly Paige Crumpton

Marching/Mounted Units

1st Place, Horse and Buggy featured the Walker Family and La Gloria Ranch and Hunting Vehicle "El Terrible"

2nd Place, Americas Last Patrol

3rd Place, Diamondback Trail Riders.

Also recognized were winners of the snake contest - Jose M. Longoria Jr. of Mission, Texas for longest Western Diamondback snake which measured 73 1/2 inches; Daniel Gonzalez for most amount of non-venomous snakes; and Tyler A. Steweart and Daniel A. Saenz of Freer for most pounds. Their snakes weighed 85.5 pounds.

Saturday evening's concerts began with Billy Mata and The Texas Tradition who were followed by Tyler McCumber and Zona Jones and closed with special guest headliner, Wade Bowen.