Incumbents Terrell, Garza, Sanchez, Lopez, Alanis draw challengers

Christopher Maher, Jim Wells County Correspondent

Wednesday was the final day for candidates to apply for a spot on the March Primary ballot, and Jim Wells County Democratic voters will have a number of choices this election season.

At the state level, incumbent District Judge Richard Terrell faces challenger David Towler, a trial attorney from Alice. Incumbent District Attorney Joe Frank Garza is opposed by challenger Armando Barrera.

District 35 State Rep. Yvonne Gonzalez-Toureilles is unopposed for re-election.

At the local level, Mary Lozano and Octavio Figueroa are seeking the office of County Tax Assessor-Collector.

Incumbent Sheriff Oscar Lopez faces two challengers, former sheriff's deputy Enrique Saenz and Narciso Gonzalez.

Incumbent Pct. 1 County Commissioner Zenaida Sanchez faces three challengers in her bid for re-election.

Those challengers include Melva Vasquez Ramirez, Gilberto "Blackie" Saenz III and Javier Garcia.

Oswald "Wally" Alanis, the incumbent Pct. 3 County Commissioner is opposed by J.C. Perez III.

The Pct. 1 Justice of the Peace race has two newcomers, following the retirement of incumbent JP Alonzo Villarreal.

Guadalupe "Lupe" Martinez and current City of Alice Mayor Pro-tem Juan Rodriguez Jr. are both seeking election to that office.

Four challengers are seeking the Pct. 6 Constable position. They are Marcos Garcia, Hector Delgado, Bartolo Guajardo and Jaime Garza.

The following candidates are unopposed for office: Jesusa Sanchez-Vera, County Attorney; Karin Knolle, Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace; Jesus "Chuy" Salinas, Pct. 1 Constable; Harold "Sonny" Crisp, Pct. 3 Constable; Frank Davila, Pct. 4 Constable; Mike Mitchell, Pct. 5 Constable; and Yolanda Moncevais, Jim Wells County Democratic Party Chair.

No Jim Wells County candidates applied to be on the Republican ballot for the March Primary.