Two Alice Independent School District teachers were selected as the 2018-19 District Teachers of the Year during the annual employee appreciation celebration Wednesday evening.

The banquet began with a dinner before Alice ISD employees were recognized. The winners for primary and secondary Teacher of the Year were announced towards the end of the banquet.

The secondary campus winner was Orlando Sendejo from William Adams Middle School.

The elementary campus winner was Annabelle Roquet who teaches at Saenz Elementary.

Roquet and Sendejo were both "surprised" to receive such an honor from their fellow teachers.

Other nominees for the awards were Jessica Cantu at Alice High School, Sandra Silva at DAEP, Malia Perez at Dubose Intermediate, Rosa Fuentes at Memorial Intermediate, Ivanna Howard at Dubose Intermediate, Norma Hinojosa at Memorial Intermediate, Maricruz Zapata at Hillcrest Elementary, Grace Perez at Noonan Elementary, Ida Tschoepe at Salazar Elementary and Monica Reynolds at Schallert Elementary.

Nominees were chosen by their peers at their campus. A committee then goes through each applicant and chooses the winner.