After days of heavy rains and flash flooding, Jim Wells and Nueces were among 18 Texas counties included in a State of Disaster Declaration by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott.

Abbott on Tuesday issued a State Disaster Declaration for 18 Texas counties impacted by recent severe weather and flooding that has caused widespread property damage and threatened loss of life, according to a press release. Abbott has authorized the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions to aid in response efforts.

"Texas is taking immediate action to respond to the threat of recent severe weather and flooding across the state,” Abbott said. “We have made available all necessary resources to respond as quickly and effectively as possible to this disaster and to assist those in harm’s way. I thank all our first responders and local officials on the ground in these communities for their efforts to assist fellow Texans during this dangerous event.”

The strong cold front that blew over Texas earlier this week brought temperatures in the low-50s. It also brought heavy rains Monday and Tuesday which caused some flooding in low areas.

Other counties included in the disaster declaration are Bastrop, Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Hood, Kerr, Kimble, La Salle, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, McMullen, Real, San Patricio, Travis and Williamson.

The National Weather Service is predicting more rain for South Texas in the coming days. Widespread showers with isolated thunderstorms are possible through Friday.