Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Dorothy Jean Calhoun, Aureka Simpson, and Janice Washington to the Family and Protective Services Council for terms set to expire February 1, 2019. Additionally, the Governor appointed Omedi “Dee Dee” Arismendez, Greg Hamilton, and Davina Hollin for terms set to expire February 1, 2021, and appointed Liesa Hackett, Bonnie Hellums, and Matt Kouri for terms set to expire February 1, 2023. Kouri will serve as the presiding officer of the council. The council is charged with studying and making recommendations to the commissioner regarding the management and operation of the Department of Family and Protective Services.

Janice Washington of Corpus Christi is an Advanced Via Individual Determination (AVID) college prep teacher for West Oso ISD. She previously, served as a social worker for the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services working in investigation, conservatorship, family preservation, adoption, and ended her 10 year career as the regional foster/adoption recruiter. She is a former board member of the Junior League of Corpus Christi. Washington received a Bachelor of Arts in communications from Corpus Christi State University and received a special education teaching certificate from Texas Educator Alternative Certification.

Omedi "Dee Dee" Cantu Arismendez of Alice is the recruiter and business service representative for Workforce Solutions of the Coastal Bend at the Alice Career Center. She is a member of the Rotary Club of Alice and an assistant governor and governor's aide and of the Rotary District 5930 Area-6. Additionally, she is a member of the Alice Chamber of Commerce, Jim Wells County Fair Association, and the V.F.W. Ladies Auxiliary Post 1760, past-regent of the Catholic Daughters of America- St. Jude #1770, and former president of the Area 9 Parent Teacher Association. Arismendez received a Bachelor of Applied Arts and Science from Texas A&M University – Kingsville.