Tejano music was represented in Alice on Saturday night as approximately 70 musicians, artists and broadcasters were inducted to the Tejano Roots Hall of Fame.

The 16th Annual Noche de Fiesta Tejana kicked off with a dance on Friday night at the Jim Wells County Fairgrounds.

During the Induction Ceremony at the Veteran's of Foreign War Hall, the late Antonio “Tony” Botello Jr. was honored as the Favorite Son of Alice.

Botello was an educator with the Alice Independent School District however, the profession did not pay much. Botello looked for a second job to supplement his pay. He found a part time job on the radio. 

KBIC FM was the start to what "Tony" enjoyed doing in life. He liked that he could make people feel good and have a great time over the air waves, especially when he hosted the Mariachi hour.

He went on to do other shows like sports. Botello became the voice of the Alice Coyotes in 2010. He was also a school board member and a respected man of the community who passed away February 2015 after a battle with cancer.

"First and foremost I'm very honored and humbled to be here to accept this prestigious award on behalf of my late father," said Raymond Botello. "He lived his dream."

(My father) had a special way of making people feel like they were at the game by taking what he loved about the classroom and combined it with his radio shows, Raymond said.

While bands prepared their equipment to entertain the packed hall awards inductees were inducted. One by one, artists and musicians climbed the stairs and received their award.

The female entertainer for 2015 was Jackie Gomez. 

Gomez performed at "Johnnyland" in Corpus Christi where she won the attention of many that encouraged her to start a band. With the help of her manager and parents, she formed "Jackie y Romantico." They had their first gig in 1995.

"Twenty years of singing and playing has payed off," Gomez stated after she accepted her award. "I couldn't believe that I was selected for such an award. Without my parents, family and Rick Garcia, of Hacienda Records, this wouldn't be possible."

With tears in her eyes, Gomez recalled how her father supported her dreams and her career.

"It's such a big honor to receive such an award," Gomez said.  

Others inductees for the Tejano Roots Hall of Fame 2015 are:


Isidoro Lopez Conjunto Tradicional-

Los Fantasmas De Valle Hector Barron Benito Fonseca Rodney Rodriguez Bobby Salinas Martin Cortez Progressive Band-

Ezmi Talamantez Y Viento Loco Ezmi Talamantez Abel Talamantez Ray Talamantez Adam John Vargas Male Entertainers-

Albert “Tiger” Diaz Pete Espinoza Orchestra/Big Band


The Joe Lozano “Este Lunes” Award Promoter

Oscar Munoz Javier “JV” Villanueva Lifetime Achievement Award

Juan Tejeda Pioneer Tejano Award

Irma Garcia Leonel Pulido Million Dollar Band


Rudy Flores Bonifacio “Boni” Jordan Jesse Martinez Wally Munoz Santiago “Jimmy” Montez Robert Riojas Sr. Leonard Reyes Eloy De La Garza Silvestre “Nate” Garcia Esteban Jordan Jr. Guitar

Paul M. Velasquez Chris Perez Paul Martinez Ignacio Puente David Anzaldua Bajo Sexto

George Luis Moreno Sr. Gilbert Trejo Jr. Daniel Gonzalez Juan Olivarez Matthew Luna Bass Guitar

Julio P. Yglesias Rumaldo Vasquez David Hinojosa Jesse Gomez Roque “Rocky” Garza Trumpet

Rick Patino Saxophone

George Torres Paul Martinez Frank Cuellar Fred Soto Accordion

Luz Alfredo “Alfred” Garcia Roger Pena Arturo Nino Jesse Zamora Edwardo Rivera Fritz Morquecho Vocalist

George Jay Balli Paul Donoso Robert Gonzalez Castillo Keyboard

Carlos Reyna Espinosa Ruben Duque Joel Silva Steve “Rat” Silvas Robert Garcia Congas

AJ Rock Flores Michael Paul Flores Greg Paredez Bajo Sexto Award

Antonio S. Rios “Tony” Sound Engineer

Gabriel Lopez Amadeo Flores Accordion Player Award

Smiley Cuellar Reynaldo Ruiz Joe “Jose” H. Pena Armando Marroquin Sr. Historic Hall

Lerma Hall San Antonio, TX Special Recognition Award

Mel Garcia