Name and rank:

Deputy Leo Ramon

Number of years with the Jim Wells County department:

I have seven weeks with the department.

Number of years of experience:

My career just started seven weeks ago.

What made you want to be in law enforcement?

I grew up in a law enforcement family with both my uncles as cops. They had an influence on me from a very young age. Growing up seeing local law enforcement agencies and the positive impact they made on the community, I always knew I wanted to be apart of that.

Does your family support your career choice?

My family supports me 100 percent which makes this job a little easier knowing that I have a great and strong support system at home. They always knew I wanted to be a police officer and always encouraged me. They pushed me to strive for my life long dream.

What's the most rewarding part of your job?

The most rewarding part of my job is seeing the sigh of relief in people's faces once we arrive on the scene. Knowing they feel safe because of my presence gives me a reason to continue. Knowing that a simple conversation with someone when they are at a rough patch in life can change their attitude for the better.

What do you believe is the hardest part of my job? Why?

The hardest part of my job is seeing and knowing kids experience lives with criminal activity. It's also hard when children are separated from there loved ones because of the senseless acts of their parents or other family members. I try really hard to encourage kids and remind them to stay positive no matter what situation they might be in because with a positive attitude and guidance will take them far in life.