Name and rank

Jesse M. Garza Patrol Officer

Number of years with Alice Police Department

I have been with the department for two years and eight months.

Number of years of experience total. Where?

I have a total of five years and eight months. I worked three years as a patrol deputy with San Patricio County Sheriff's Department.

What made you want to be in law enforcement?

I was perusing a Criminal Justice Degree at Texas A&M University Corpus Christ and in my senior year I was thinking of what career path I was going to take after college. Most of the jobs I was applying for requested having experience in law enforcement. I knew several police officers from school and went on some ride outs with officers from departments such as Corpus Christi Police Department. I was instantly hooked on the profession. Not only the fast pace environment of the job, but most of all the service calls and helping people that truly need help.

Does your family support your career choice?

Yes they do support me. My wife is also in the public service field along with my father and brother who are both firefights in Corpus Christi. They all understand the importance of being a police officer and support my career.

What's the most rewarding part of your job?

The most rewarding part of this job is when I have helped someone then months or years later they thank you for helping them when they were having a bad day.

What do you believe is the hardest part of your job? Why?

I believe the hardest thing is not being able to help everyone I meet while working. I try to give the best advice to those I encounter especially in cases which involve family violence. Sometimes the advice is taken and sometimes it isn't.