The luck of the draw determined the placement for the city council candidates on Monday.

Incumbent Mayor Larry Martinez drew number one and Ike Ornelas is number two.

Pro-tem Michael Esparza is running unopposed for Place 1.

For Place 2, Incumbent Yvette Terrell-Johnson drew number one and Pete Beltran is number two.

Incumbent Frank Hinojosa drew number one, Leo Escobar drew number two, and Mauricio R. Garza is number three for Place 3.

Ron Burke drew number one and will run against Raul Chapa, number two, for Place 4.

The last day to submit voter registration application in time to vote at the election is April 9.

Early voting is April 27 to May 5.

Election Day is Saturday, May 9 with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.