Alice Echo News-Journal
  • Duval voters re-elect sheriff and setup run-off in constable race

    • email print
  • SAN DIEGO — Voters in Duval County re-elected sheriff Romeo R. Ramirez in the Democratic Primary election Tuesday night. They also will have to head back to the polls in July for a run-off election between Pct. 1 Constable candidates Jose “Pepe” Martinez Jr. and Bruno E. Valdez.
    Ramirez was re-elected by a wide margin. He earned 2,392 votes or 63.03 percent of the vote total compared to former sheriff Santiago Barrera Jr., who won 31.36 percent of the vote total. Jose Joe Salinas Jr. picked up 5.51 percent.
    In the race for Pct. 1 constable, Valdez garnered 363 votes of 36.16 percent of the vote total and Martinez finished with 335 votes or 33.37 percent. A run-off was declared since neither candidate earned at least 50 percent of the vote total. The run-off election is July 28.
    The following are unofficial vote totals for Duval County races:
    Duval County Sheriff
    Romeo R. Ramirez, 2,392.
    Santiago Barrera Jr., 1,194.
    Jose Joe Salinas Jr., 209.
    Duval County Tax Assessor/Collector
    Carlos J. Montemayor Jr., 2,044.
    Priscilla A. Martinez, 1,562.
    Pct. 1 Constable
    Bruno E. Valdez, 363.
    Jose “Pepe” Martinez Jr., 335.
    Roel R. Perez, 306.
    Pct. 2 Constable
    Ramiro G. Perez, 586.
    Ernie Perez, 361.
    Pct. 4 Constable
    Arturo G. Martinez, 612.
    Ruben Silva, 71.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar