Jim Wells County Sheriff's Sgt. Gilbert Saenz IV recently received his Intermediate Peace Officer License from Texas Commission on Law Enforcement. 

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (Commission) is a state agency created by an act of the 59th Legislature. Senate Bill (SB) 236, which became effective on August 30, 1965, did not appropriate any funds for the operations of the Commission. Original funding was provided from private foundations and federal grants. This act provided for a voluntary program to improve law enforcement proficiency. In 1967, the 60th Legislature included the Commission in the Appropriations Act and funded an executive director and three staff members. Since then, the Commission has grown in staff and responsibilities.

The Sunset Commission, in 2008-2009, reviewed the Commission, and House Bill (HB) 3389 was passed in the 81st Legislature to continue the Commission until 2021.