The San Diego Police Department will be participating in the “Click It or Ticket” campaign from May 22 through June 4. Motorists who don’t buckle up in compliance with state seat belt laws face fines and court cost.
San Diego Police Chief Richard Nava encourages all vehicle passengers to wear their seat belts.
According to Nava, law enforcement officials will be out in full force, taking part in the 2017 National Click It or Ticket cracking down on motorists who are not belted. Even unharnessed passengers will be ticketed.
SDPD was recently awarded a Click It or Ticket Grant from the Texas Department of Transportation. This is the 15th anniversary of the statewide program that encourages driver and passenger safety.
When the campaign launched in 2002, only 76 percent of Texans used their seat belts. Today, nearly 92 percent buckle up.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that since its inception 15 years ago, the Texas “Click It or Ticket” campaign has saved 5,068 lives, prevented 86,359 serious injuries and saved Texas more than $19.3 billion in related economic costs.
Grant funds will cover the costs associated with police officer overtime during the two week campaign. Participating law enforcement agencies must abide by strict reporting guidelines, as required by TXDOT. San Diego’s Government Relations Consulting Firm, EMC Strategy Group, will work with the department’s officers to submit all daily reports during the campaign.
“I am pleased that the City of San Diego Police Department is participating in this year’s campaign,” Nava said. “When I became chief, I knew that this was a state program that I wanted to bring back to San Diego.”
The city last participated in 2015 and is the only city in Duval County participating in 2017.
According to Department of Public Safety website, your seat belt is the single most effective safety device in your vehicle.
Seat belt are designed to keep motorists from being thrown into the dashboard or windshield — or even onto the road.
Driver or passenger, front seat or back, state law requires everyone in the vehicle to be buckled up. Not buckling up could cost you up to $200 in court costs and fines or worse, according to the DPS website.
For more information on the campaign visit www.texasclickitorticket.com.