Alice City Council Candidates, Mayor Candidates and Alice ISD School Board Candidates took the stage at the Alice Echo News Journal's Debate Wednesday night.

While not every candidate was at the debate, Mayor and City Council Candidates spoke on issues that plagued the city in its inability to move forward. Mayor and City Council Candidates called for diversity and what could be done to help the residents of Alice in "trying" times.

School Board Candidates spoke about changes they felt needed to be made for the district and how the "new superintendent" would change the direction of the district with her skills and extensive knowledge in grant writing. The four school board candidates, who were at the debate, touched on program changes that could be looked into for the student benefits.

There are 13 individuals running for Alice Mayor and City Council on the 2017 general elections and six Alice ISD School Board Candidates.

Alice Mayor and City Council candidates

Mayor candidates are Jolene B. Vanover, Incumbent Ike Ornelas and Larry Martinez.

For Place 1, Incumbent Pete H. Crisp and Tony Sexton.

Place 2 candidates are Elida Garza, Michael Wohl and Incumbent Pete Beltran.

Cynthia Ann Carrasco and Hector L. Villarreal are in the race for Place 3. Place 3 incumbent Leo Escobar did not file for re-election.

Place 4 Incumbent Ron Burke will campaign against Mauricio R. Garza II and Yolanda Sosa Moran.

Alice ISD school board candidates

Ben Salinas Jr. for Place 2 and Herman Arellano for Place 6, both with no opposition.

For Place 3, Albert Molina runs against Incumbent Servando “Wolf” Garza Jr.

Margarito Perez Jr. and Brian Charles Arredondo are vying against each other for Place 7. Incumbent Mark Dominguez did not file.

Voters may cast their early vote by mail or personal appearance at the Jim Wells County Election Administrator's Office located at 200 N. Almond St. at the courthouse from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Election Day polling places are:

Schallert Elementary School at 1301 N. Texas Boulevard

Nayer Elementary School at 501 Cactus

Saenz Elementary School at 400 Palo Blanco

Early voting starts April 24 and ends May 2.

Election Day is on Saturday, May 6.