For more than 60 years, the pinewood derby has been a fun racing event for Cub Scouts in the Boy Scouts of America. Scouts, with the help of parents, build their own cars from wood, usually from kits containing a block of pine, plastic wheels and metal axles.

Local Boy Scouts entered their cars for a shot to cross the finish line. This year it was hosted at Bowden Ford in Alice.

The first pinewood derby was held on May 15, 1953 at the Scout House in Manhattan Beach, California by Cub Scout Pack 280C. The concept was created by the Pack's Cubmaster Don Murphy, and sponsored by the Management Club at North American Aviation. 

Murphy's son was too young to participate in the popular Soap Box Derby races, so he came up with the idea of racing miniature wood cars. The cars had the same gravity-powered concept as the full-size Soap Box Derby cars, but were much smaller and easier to build.

The winners are as follows:


1st- Nathan Gomez pack 93 

2nd- Aidan Villareal Pack 93

3rd- Alex Coburn Pack 400 


1st- Benjamin Raglan pack 93

2nd- Benjamin Molina Pack 93

3rd- Liam Trevino Pack 93


1st- Trevor Greathouse Pack 93

2nd- Garrett Srubar Pack 65

3rd- Brody Garcia Pack 93


1st- Ricky Limas Pack 400

2nd- Edward Guerrero Pack 400

3rd- Daniel Rosales Pack 400

Open Division: 

1st- Benjamin Ragland

2nd- Madison Arredondo

3rd- Ricky Limas Sr. 

Overall Grand Champion:

1st- Ricky Limas

2nd- Trevor Greathouse

3rd- Benjamin Ranglan

Most Unique Car- Ricky Limas

Most Patriotic Car- Nikolas Garcia

Best Cub Scout Theme- Connor Hancock

Best Flames- Garret Srubar